2017 End of Year Appeal


December 17, 2017

Friends of PUBLIC ACCESS to Washington Waterways:

As 2017 concludes and we begin to focus our sites on 2018 and beyond, I want to reach out to PUBLIC ACCESS supporters to say THANK YOU for continuing to invest in WWTA with your time, talent and treasure. Without our members, donors and volunteers, we simply would not be able to promote our mission and expand PUBLIC ACCESS through our advocacy, educational and stewardship programming.
As we begin our annual year-end appeal, I am pleased to share our progress in retaining and expanding water trails throughout our state. Washington Water Trails continues to be on the forefront for this vision. Public Access is the common denominator with stakeholders and without it; simply having the opportunity to enjoy our state’s waterways would cease to exist.
• WWTA continues to foster our partnering with local organizations to promote water trails and trail stewards.
• WWTA is seated on the steering committee for the creation of the “Sky to Sound Water Trail”, which is an 86-mile water trail system on the Skykomish, Snoqualmie and Snohomish Rivers into Puget Sound.
• WWTA will continue to lead efforts in 2018 to have the “Lakes to Locks Water Trail” designated as a National Water Trail.
• WWTA provides events, outreach and classes throughout the year to educate members and citizens of water trails, access and safety topics to advance our mission.
I encourage you to talk about organizations that you support with family and friends. Ask tough questions and have high expectations for those organizations you support, including WWTA. By your support, you will be helping to fund efforts to increase PUBLIC ACCESS to public waterways around our state so that all citizens will have the opportunity to enjoy one of our most precious natural resources.
On behalf of the WWTA Board of Directors, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and thank you for considering giving to our organization during our annual appeal.

I also want to thank the following people for their recent support in the office and on the board: Don Crook, Adam Brandt, Phil Philbin, Karen Scharer, Mike Macker, Kathy McGee, Rob Casey and Tomas Tabisola. We also have a private funder to thank for their support, and many others for their gifts on #GivingTuesday.

Best Regards,

Andree Hurley, President
Don Crook, Vice President
Adam Brandt, Secretary
Phil Philbin, Treasurer
Karen Scharer, Chair of the Membership Committee
Mike Macker, Chair of the Technology Committee
Rob Casey, Member of the Technology Committee
Tomas Tabisola, Board Member